Can't Connect to Hidden Wifi

Hello all,
Total raspberry pi noob here, but I am attempting to configure a raspberry pi 3 model b+ with screenly ose 0.17 (i tried 0.18 but it made no difference in the issue im facing, plus it would never boot to the splash screen/hotspot information like 0.17). I am not able to connect to the hidden wifi network i need to use.
I have tried configuring the connection in the wpa_supplicant.conf, nmtui, nmcli. with no luck.
I can access the hotspot and connect to a visible network with no issue. (i have even tried connecting to the visible network, and then going in and changing the ssid to the network i want in the wpa_supplicant.conf, but that doesnt work either.) numerous online resources all seem to say the same thing, but there is no difference in the outcome and they all seem to be a couple years old.
I flashed another sd card with an image of raspbian buster and was able to connect to the hidde network with out any issue, then i mirrored the information in that wpa_supplicant.conf file to the file on the sd card with the screenly ose image, but it does not connect.

where are some up to date resources that i can check out when attempting to configure wifi on screenly ose?
what else can i try to get connected to this hidden network?

secondary question: would it be possible to install a version of raspbian with a desktop, get the wifi connected, and then install screenly ose and configure it to boot to screenly instead of the desktop?

Yes, download Raspbian Desktop (Stretch version):
https://downloads.raspberrypi.org/raspbian/images/raspbian-2019-04-09/

the 1.1GB .zip file
use something like balenaEtcher to easily install the image, then sun the Screenly OSE install script when you are done configuring the Raspbian Stretch OS…

I dont know why your wpa_supplicant.conf is not picking up your hidden SSID, did you add the scan ssid option to it?

scan_ssid=1 to /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf