Watchdog timer or automated restart for raspberry pi running anthias?

Greetings,

I have a few Raspberry pi 3s running anthias showing a website infinitely and I am having an issue where after a few days of running the screen goes white. I installed the Anthias Pi 3 image using the official Pi imager.

I would like to know if and how I could configure the raspberry pi to restart periodically (daily at 2am for example).

or

Is there a ‘watchdog’ within Anthias or the pi OS that could force a restart if it detects an abnormality? I am very new to raspberry pi and I don’t know if and how to configure this type of thing to run in parallel to anthias.

Any help would be really appreciated :slight_smile: thanks

@danny,

I haven’t looked closely if there’s something like a watchdog in Anthias.
The Anthias Pi 3 image is based on BalenaOS. I’ll let you know when I get back to this one and get insights.

Have you tried installing Anthias on a Pi 3 running RPi OS Lite? With Raspberry Pi OS Lite, you can have more control. For instance, you can SSH to it from your terminal emulator.

You can try it on an RPi OS Lite instance first, then get the logs, should this issue persist again. Please don’t hesitate to drop a question if you’ve technical roadblocks and whatnot. :slight_smile:

Thanks so much for the quick reply.

No I haven’t tried installing Anthias on any other OS. To be honest I’m not sure if I have the ability to do it yet. I’m extremely new to raspberry pi and come from an arduino background. So have no idea what I’m doing with pi. Definitely willing to learn and I really appreciate the guidance.

Thanks

@danny, sorry that I haven’t gotten back to you for a while.

• To get started, download and install the Raspberry Pi Imager here.
  • Once opened, click the Choose OS button.
  • Select Raspberry Pi OS (other).
  • Click Choose Storage and select the microSD card that you’d like to be flashed with the RPi OS Lite.